2021 ASFMRA Annual Conference

2022 ASFMRA Award Nominations

Nominations are now open for 2022 ASFMRA Awards. Descriptions for each of the awards can be found below. Please complete the correct form linked below and submit to the ASFMRA no later than July 15, 2022.

ASFMRA Awards Nomination Form
(Includes D. Howard Doane Award, Meritorious Service in Communication Award, Carl F. Hertz Distinguished Service in Agriculture Award, and Early Career Award.)

2021 ASFMRA Award Winners

sponsored by
Hertz Logo

Each year, the ASFMRA recognizes distinguished ag land professionals with awards that honor the individuals' contributions to their craft. 

The 2021 winners will be recognized during the ASFMRA Accreditation & Awards Ceremony, sponsored by Hertz, on November 3, 2021.

D. Howard Doane Award

This award is given to a member or non-member who has made an outstanding contribution in the field of agriculture with emphasis on farm management and rural appraisal.

2021 Winner: Fred L. Hepler, AFM AAC; Edmond, Oklahoma | Hepler & Associates, R.E.

Meritorious Service in Communication Award

This award acknowledges an individual, company, or association involved in the area of communications that has promoted understanding and goodwill between producers and consumers of agricultural products.

2021 Winner: Vance Crowe; Saint Louis, Missouri | Articulate Ventures LLC

Carl F. Hertz Distinguished Service in Agriculture Award

This honor is usually awarded to a non-member in appreciation for distinguished service to agriculture other than directly in the farm management or rural appraisal professions.

2021 Winner: Senator Chuck Grassley; Iowa | US Senator in Congress

Early Career Award – Sponsored by Bayer Crop Science

This national award, given annually by the ASFMRA, recognizes an outstanding “early career” member. This award recognizes “early career” members who are making outstanding contributions to their local chapter(s), the ASFMRA, and their local communities during their first 10 years of ASFMRA membership.

2021 Winner: Ryan T. Kay, AFM; Mount Vernon, Iowa | Hertz Farm Management, Inc.

Henry A. Long, Jr., Appraiser of the Year – Sponsored by Rabo AgriFinance

This award recognizes an ARA or RPRA designation member who has made an impact on the profession through involvement in the appraisal education courses, service on professional appraisal boards, community involvement or activities and whose clients, peers and colleagues affirm their professionalism and excellence within the appraisal profession.

2021 Winner: Chris L. Greenwalt, ARA, RPRA; Greeley, Colorado

Farm Manager of the Year – Sponsored by Syngenta, AgPro Magazine and ASFMRA

This award recognizes an AFM designation member who has made an impact on the farm management profession.

2021 Winner: Kyle Walker, AFM, AAC

Gold Quill Award

Selected by the Editorial Committee, this award is given to the authors of the most outstanding article published during the year in the Journal of the American Society of Farm Managers and Rural Appraisers.

2021 Winners: None

Silver and Gold Plow Awards

This award recognizes those Chapter Secretary/Treasurers with 10 years of service for the Silver Plow and 20 years of service for the Gold Plow. Records are retained by National for award purposes.

2021 Winners:

  • Silver Plow Award - 10 years of service
    • Lyndsy Bock; Mt Pleasant, Michigan | Greenstone F.C.S.
  • Gold Plow Award - 20 years of service
    • Boyd Harris; Centralia, Missouri | Boyd Harris Companies, Inc.

H.E. Stalcup Excellence in Education

This award recognizes individuals who have contributed his or her knowledge and countless hours toward the advancement of the ASFMRA educational offerings.

2021 Winners:

  • Appraisal Education
    • Brian J. Gatzke, ARA; Brookings, South Dakota | Northern Plains Appraisal, LLC
  • Management Education
    • Dennis Reyman, AFM, ARA; Storm Lake, Iowa | Stalcup Agri Service, Inc.

 View Past Award Recipients

Thank You to
Last Year's Sponsors

Kefa Capital, Inc.
Midwest Laboratories
Farmers National Company
Halderman Real Estate and Farm Management
Hertz Farm Management
Peoples Company
Rabo AgriFinance
Beck's Hybrids
Crown Appraisals
Land Pro LLC
Valley Irrigation
Arizona Chapter of the ASFMRA
California Chapter of the ASFMRA
Carolinas Virginias Chapter of the ASFMRA
Idaho-Utah Chapter of the ASFMRA
Illinois Chapter of the ASFMRA
Kansas Chapter of the ASFMRA
Michigan Chapter of the ASFMRA
Mid-South Chapter of the ASFMRA
Minnesota Chapter of the ASFMRA
Nebraska Chapter of the ASFMRA
New Mexico Chapter of the ASFMRA
North Dakota Chapter of the ASFMRA
Northeast Chapter of the ASFMRA
Ohio Chapter of the ASFMRA
South Dakota Chapter of the ASFMRA
Texas Chapter of the ASFMRA