2024 ASFMRA Annual Conference logo

2024 ASFMRA Award Nominations

Nominations are now open for 2024 ASFMRA Awards are now closed. Come back later to see the 2024 winners who will be honored in Kansas City this November!

2023 ASFMRA Award Winners

sponsored by
Hertz Logo

Each year, the ASFMRA recognizes distinguished ag land professionals with awards that honor the individuals' contributions to their craft. 

The 2023 winners were recognized during the ASFMRA Accreditation & Awards Ceremony, sponsored by Hertz, on November 15, 2023.

D. Howard Doane Award

This award is given to a member or non-member who has made an outstanding contribution in the field of agriculture with emphasis on farm management or rural appraisal.

2023 Winner: Dennis Reyman, AFM, ARA; Storm Lake, Iowa | Stalcup Ag Service

Meritorious Service in Communication Award

This award acknowledges an individual, company, or association involved in the area of communications that has promoted understanding and goodwill between producers and consumers of agricultural products.

2023 Winner: Marji Guyler-Alaniz; Olathe, Kansas | FarmHer

Carl F. Hertz Distinguished Service in Agriculture Award

This honor is usually awarded to a non-member in appreciation for distinguished service to agriculture other than directly in the farm management or rural appraisal professions.

2023 Winner: Tommy Funk; San Antonio, Texas | Goldcrest Farm Trust

Early Career Award – Sponsored by Bayer Crop Science

This national award, given annually by the ASFMRA, recognizes an outstanding “early career” member. This award recognizes “early career” members who are making outstanding contributions to their local chapter(s), the ASFMRA, and their local communities during their first 10 years of ASFMRA membership.

2023 Winner: Justin S. Bahr, AFM; Alden, Iowa | Summit Ag Management, LLC

Henry A. Long, Jr., Appraiser of the Year – Sponsored by Rabo AgriFinance

This award recognizes an ARA or RPRA designation member who has made an impact on the profession through involvement in the appraisal education courses, service on professional appraisal boards, community involvement or activities and whose clients, peers and colleagues affirm their professionalism and excellence within the appraisal profession.

2023 Winner: Richard Isaacson, AFM, ARA; Marion, Iowa | Growthland

Farm Manager of the Year – Sponsored by Syngenta, AgPro Magazine and ASFMRA

This award recognizes an AFM designated member who has made an impact on the farm management profession.

2023 Winner: Ryan T. Kay, AFM; Mount Vernon, Iowa / Hertz Farm Management, Inc.

Gold Quill Award

Selected by the Editorial Committee, this award is given to the authors of the most outstanding article published during the year in the Journal of the American Society of Farm Managers and Rural Appraisers.

2023 Winners: Dr. Michael R. Langemeier; Gary Schnitkey, Ph.D.; Dr. Carl Zulauf — "U.S. Crop Profitability and Farm Safety Net Payments Since 1975"

Silver and Gold Plow Awards

This award recognizes those Chapter Secretary/Treasurers with 10 years of service for the Silver Plow and 20 years of service for the Gold Plow. Records are retained by National for award purposes.

2023 Winners:

  • Silver Plow Award - 10 years of service
    • Craig Warren, ARA; Smithfield, Utah | Craig Warren Appraisal LLC
  • Gold Plow Award - 20 years of service
    • Suzie Roget; Woodbridge, California | California Chapter, ASFMRA
    • Juliana E. Young, ARA; Vero Beach, Florida | Young Appraisal and Consulting

H.E. Stalcup Excellence in Education

This award recognizes individuals who have contributed his or her knowledge and countless hours toward the advancement of the ASFMRA educational offerings.

2023 Winners:

  • Appraisal Education
    • Raymond L. Wagester, ARA; Greenwood Village, Colorado | CoBank
  • Management Education
    • Matt Gunderson, AFM; Omaha, Nebraska | Farmers National Company
    • Corey D. Prins, AFM; Marshall, Minnesota | Northwestern Farm Management Co

 View Past Award Recipients