Blog Viewer

2022 ASFMRA Awards Presented in San Antonio

By ASFMRA Press posted 19 days ago

Contact: Andrew Eames
Tel. 303.692.1210

Rural Property Professionals Receive Recognition
Awards Given at 2022 ASFMRA Annual Conference in San Antonio

November 9, 2022

Glendale, Colo – The American Society of Farm Managers and Rural Appraisers® (ASFMRA®) honored dozens of rural appraisers, farm managers and consultants at the 2022 ASFMRA Annual Conference on November 9, 2022, in San Antonio, Texas.

At the Accreditation and Awards Ceremony, sponsored by Hertz Farm Management, it was announced that 24 ASFMRA members received their Accredited Farm Management (AFM) designation, while an additional four became Accredited Agricultural Consultants (AAC). Seven members received their Accredited Rural Appraiser (ARA) designation, and one member earned his Real Property Review Appraiser (RPRA) designation. Accreditation represents the highest recognition given by the Society, and is achieved only after years of professional service, many rigorous hours of education and comprehensive testing conducted by the Society.

Additionally, the following rural property professionals were honored by their peers:

Professional Farm Manager of the Year Award
Sponsored by Syngenta, The Scoop and the ASFMRA
The Professional Farm Manager of the Year Award recognizes an AFM accredited member or team who has made a significant impact on the farm management profession. This year the award was presented to Skye Root, AFM, AAC, of Root Agricultural Advisory in Boise, Idaho. As an award sponsor, Syngenta donated $1000 to the Boise Rescue Mission Ministry on Mr. Root’s behalf.

Henry A. Long, Jr., Appraiser of the Year
Sponsored by Rabo AgriFinance, LLC
Each year, the ASFMRA recognizes an ARA or RPRA accredited member for their impact on the profession through appraisal education, service on professional appraisal boards, community involvement and affirmation of their professionalism and excellence within the appraisal profession. This year’s recipient was Mark A. Lewis, ARA, RPRA, co-owner of Lewis & Seely Appraisals in Lufkin, Texas. Rabo AgriFinance, as sponsors of the award, made a $500 donation to the Pleasant Hills Children’s Home of Oakville, Texas, on behalf of the winner.

D. Howard Doane Award
The D. Howard Doane Award is held in great esteem in the American Society of Farm Managers and Rural Appraisers, and is given to an individual (member or non-member) who has made an outstanding contribution in the field of agriculture with emphasis on farm management and rural appraisal. This year’s recipient was John T. Widdoss, ARA, a founder of Hall-Widdoss & Co. and President of AgWare, Inc.

Carl F. Hertz Distinguished Service in Agriculture Award
This award, named after a previous distinguished ASFMRA member, is presented each year to an individual in appreciation for their service to agriculture other than directly in the farm management and rural appraisal professions. The recipient of the 2022 Carl F. Hertz Distinguished Service in Agriculture Award was Lonnie Smith of DuPont Pioneer.

Early Career Award
Sponsored by Bayer Crop Science
The ASFMRA Early Career Award recognizes an outstanding early career member, someone who is making outstanding contributions to their local chapter, the ASFMRA and to their local communities during their first 10 years of ASFMRA membership. This year’s recipient was Barbara Hegerfeld, who works as a Certified General Appraiser for RaboAgrifinace in Brookings, S.D.

Meritorious Service in Communication Award
The Meritorious Service in Communication Award acknowledges an individual, company, or association involved in promoting understanding and goodwill between producers and consumers of agricultural products. The 2022 recipient of the Meritorious Service in Communications Award was Eric O’Keefe, editor of The Land Report.

H.E. "Buck" Stalcup Excellence in Education Awards
The H. E. "Buck" Stalcup Excellence in Education Award is awarded to individuals who have contributed his or her knowledge and countless hours toward the advancement of the ASFMRA education and events program. The 2022 H.E. "Buck" Stalcup Excellence in Education Award for appraisal education went to Lee B. Smith, ARA, owner of Lee B. Smith and Associates based out of Carson City, Nevada. The 2022 H.E. “Buck” Stalcup Excellence in Education Award for management education went to Kirk D. Weih, AFM, of Hertz Farm Management and Lonnie Smith of DuPont Pioneer.

Silver Plow Award
The Silver Plow award recognizes an ASFMRA chapter secretary/treasurer with 10 or more years of service, while the Gold Plow award is reserved for those who have served for at least 20 years. This year’s Silver Plow was presented to Paul T. Reisch, ARA, of Watertown, S.D., for his service to the South Dakota Chapter. The Gold Plow was awarded to Milan Lemaich, ARA-Retired, of Aylmer, Ontario, for this dedication to the Ontario Chapter.

ASFMRA Volunteer of the Year Award
The ASFMRA Volunteer of the Year Award recognizes an individual who has contributed countless hours of their time to the Society and its members. Chris Greenwalt, ARA, RPRA, of Greeley, Colo. received this year’s award for his significant contributions to ASFMRA education and for representing rural appraisers on committees outside the Society.