2019 ASFMRA Awards Announced

By ASFMRA Press posted 11-27-2019 15:35


Contact: Alex Clark
Tel. 303.692.1227
Email: aclark@asfmra.org

Rural Property Professionals Receive Recognition
Awards Given at 2019 ASFMRA Annual Conference in Louisville

November 26, 2019


Glendale, Colo – The American Society of Farm Managers and Rural Appraisers® (ASFMRA®) honored dozens of rural appraisers, farm managers and consultants at the 2019 ASFMRA Annual Conference on November 20, 2019, in Louisville, Ky.


At the Accreditation and Awards Ceremony, sponsored by Hertz Farm Management, it was announced that 24 ASFMRA members received their Accredited Farm Management (AFM) designation, while an additional 10 members received their Accredited Rural Appraiser (ARA) designation. Accreditation represents the highest recognition given by the Society, and is achieved only after years of professional service, many rigorous hours of education and comprehensive testing conducted by the Society.


Additionally, the following rural property professionals were honored by their peers:


Professional Farm Manager of the Year Award

Sponsored by Syngenta, AgPro Magazine and the ASFMRA

The Professional Farm Manager of the Year Award recognizes an AFM accredited member or team who has made an impact on the farm management profession.  This year the award was presented to Lawain Biermann, AFM, of Hertz Farm Management in Cedar Falls, Iowa.  


Henry A. Long, Jr., Appraiser of the Year
Sponsored by Rabo AgriFinance, LLC

Each year ASFMRA recognizes an ARA or RPRA accredited member for their impact on the profession through appraisal education, service on professional appraisal boards, community involvement and affirmation of their professionalism and excellence within the appraisal profession. This year’s recipient was Justin Bierschwale, ARA, co-owner of Bierschwale Land Company in Junction, Texas.

  1. Howard Doane Award

The D. Howard Doane Award is held in great esteem in the American Society of Farm Managers and Rural Appraisers, and is given to an individual (member or non-member) who has made an outstanding contribution in the field of agriculture with emphasis on farm management and rural appraisal.  This year’s recipient was Rex E. Wilcox, AFM, of Stalcup Ag Services in Storm Lake, Iowa.

Carl F. Hertz Distinguished Service in Agriculture Award

This award, named after a previous distinguished ASFMRA member is presented each year to an individual in appreciation for service to agriculture other than directly in the farm management and rural appraisal professions. The recipient of the 2019 Carl F. Hertz Distinguished Service in Agriculture Award was James C. Borel, former Executive Vice President at DuPont Pioneer.


Early Career Award
Sponsored by Bayer Crop Science

The ASFMRA Early Career Award recognizes an outstanding early career member, someone who is making outstanding contributions to their local chapter, the ASFMRA and to their local communities during their first 10 years of ASFMRA membership. This year’s recipient was Ben Isaacson, part owner of Agri Management Services in Marion, Iowa.

Meritorious Service in Communication Award

The Meritorious Service in Communication Award acknowledges an individual, company, or association involved in promoting understanding and goodwill between producers and consumers of agricultural products. The 2019 recipient of the Meritorious Service in Communications Award was Chip Flory, Editor Emeritus of Pro Farmer, Farm Journal Economist and host of AgriTalk.

H.E. "Buck" Stalcup Excellence in Education Awards

The H. E. "Buck" Stalcup Excellence in Education Award is awarded to individuals who have contributed his or her knowledge and countless hours toward the advancement of the ASFMRA education program. The 2019 H.E. "Buck" Stalcup Excellence in Education Award for appraisal education went to Cynthia R. Best, ARA, of Rabo AgriFinance in Clare, Mich. The 2019 H.E. “Buck” Stalcup Excellence in Education Award for management education went to F. Howard Halderman of Halderman Farm Management and Real Estate Services in Wabash, Ind.

Gold Quill Award

The Gold Quill honor is awarded to the author or authors of the most outstanding article published during the year in the Journal of the American Society of Farm Managers and Rural Appraisers. The ASFMRA Editorial Committee presented the 2019 Gold Quill Award to Dale Lattz, Dr. Nicholas Paulson and Dr. Gary Schnitkey for their article entitled, "The Persistence of Grain Farm Returns in Illinois.”

Gold Plow Award

The Gold Plow is awarded to an ASFMRA chapter secretary/treasurer with 20 or more years of service.  This year awards were presented to Freddie Barnard of West Lafayette, Ind., for the Indiana Chapter.