2020 Virtual Annual Conference | Officer Installation + Accreditation & Awards Ceremony

When:  Nov 9, 2020 from 2:30 AM to 5:00 PM (MT)

Register Here

2:30 - 3:00 PM MT
  • Officer Installation
  • President's Address
    • Executive VP Address
    3:00 - 4:00 PM MT
    4:00 - 5:00 PM MT
    • Education Foundation Auction, sponsored by
      Pioneer Logo

    2020 ASFMRA Award Nominations

    Each year, the ASFMRA recognizes distinguished ag land professionals with awards that honor the individuals' contributions to their craft. 

    This year's winners will be recognized during the ASFMRA Accreditation & Awards Ceremony, sponsored by Hertz, to take place from 3-4 PM MT on November 9. 

    D. Howard Doane Award

    This award is given to a member or non-member who has made an outstanding contribution in the field of agriculture with emphasis on farm management and rural appraisal.

    2020 Winner: L. Craig Harris; Shenandoah, Iowa | Harris Appraisal  Services

    Meritorious Service in Communication Award

    This award acknowledges an individual, company, or association involved in the area of communications that has promoted understanding and goodwill between producers and consumers of agricultural products.

    2020 Winner: None

    Carl F. Hertz Distinguished Service in Agriculture Award

    This honor is usually awarded to a non-member in appreciation for distinguished service to agriculture other than directly in the farm management or rural appraisal professions.

    2020 Winner: Kris Beal; Atascadero, California | Vineyard Team

    Early Career Award, sponsored by Bayer Crop Science

    This national award, given annually by the ASFMRA, recognizes an outstanding “early career” member. This award recognizes “early career” members who are making outstanding contributions to their local chapter(s), the ASFMRA, and their local communities during their first 10 years of ASFMRA membership.

    2020 Winner: Jeffrey A. Hignight, AFM; Jonesboro, Arkansas | Glaub Farm Management, LLC

    Henry A. Long, Jr., Appraiser of the Year

    This award recognizes an ARA or RPRA designation member who has made an impact on the profession through involvement in the appraisal education courses, service on professional appraisal boards, community involvement or activities and whose clients, peers and colleagues affirm their professionalism and excellence within the appraisal profession.

    2020 Winner: LeeAnn Moss, PhD, ARA; Channahon, Illinois | AcreValue at Granular

    Farm Manager of the Year – Sponsored by Syngenta, AgPro Magazine and ASFMRA

    This award recognizes an AFM designation member who has made an impact on the farm management profession.

    2020 Winner: To Be Announced

    Gold Quill Award

    Selected by the Editorial Committee, this award is given to the authors of the most outstanding article published during the year in the Journal of the American Society of Farm Managers and Rural Appraisers.

    2020 Winners: "Farmland Investment: A Portfolio Perspective"

    • Michael R. Langemeier, PhD; West Lafayette, Indiana | Purdue University
    • Ashraf Noumir; West Lafayette, Indiana | Purdue University

    Silver and Gold Plow Awards

    This award recognizes those Chapter Secretary/Treasurers with 10 years of service for the Silver Plow and 20 years of service for the Gold Plow. Records are retained by National for award purposes.

    H.E. Stalcup Excellence in Education

    This award recognizes individuals who have contributed his or her knowledge and countless hours toward the advancement of the ASFMRA educational offerings.

    2020 Winners:

    • Appraisal Education
      • Lee B. Smith, ARA; Carson City, Nevada | Lee B. Smith and Associates
    • Management Education
      • Timothy M. Cobb, AFM; Spokane, Washington | Farmland Company
      • Matt Gunderson, AFM; Omaha, Nebraska | Farmers National Company
      • Ryan T. Kay, AFM; Mount Vernon, Iowa | Hertz Farm Management
      • Corey D. Prins, AFM; Marshall, Minnesota | Northwestern Farm Management Company
      • Skye Root, AFM, AAC; Boise, Idaho | Root Agricultural Advisory