Ag News, April 29, 2014

Printer Friendly
Bookmark and Share

Agriculture’s good times: Will they continue in 2014?

Hembree Brandon | Delta Farm Press – While agriculture has enjoyed “some really good times in the past few years,” Mississippi Land Bank Chairman of the Board Abbott Myers says the USDA is projecting that farm income will decline in 2014 “and there could be some bumps in the road ahead. Continue reading:

Corn Demand Rebuilds; Prices Get a Boost

From LandOwner - It has taken less time than thought to rebuild corn demand following the spike to $8 in 2012. That became clear this winter as exports ran higher than expected, feed use soared and carryover stocks, viewed as overly burdensome, dipped lower. Download the latest edition..

Should Appraisers be Using Regression Analysis Tools?

By Dustin Harris – The Appraiser Coach - What is a regression tool for appraisers?  In layman’s terms, it is a way to take statistical data and boil it down into a readable format.  It is one thing for an appraiser to say the market is decreasing, increasing or stable, but can they support that comment beyond a gut-feeling?  Regression analysis can help. Continue reading:  View a sample of a regression analysis submitted by a member.

View Dustin’s bio:

The big dry: Can California’s drought last forever?

From BC Water News – A sampling of news stories on the western drought: Gloomy forecast, Mapping storm water, Spring experiment - Read more on these and other stories:

Leaders preparing for water crisis

Logan Hawkes – Southwest Farm Press – By Logan Hawkes, Southwest Farm Press – Four years of dry weather now and the Southwest stands on the threshold of another year of drought crisis.  Hydrologists say without substantial rainfall, rivers and streams will dry up again this summer, water allocations will drop or stop altogether, most irrigation will cease and communities and industry will struggle again with providing enough water to meet the basic needs of businesses across the state. Read more about preparing for the water crisis.

Calling all Internship Programs!

Looking to fill internships with savvy, enthusiastic and highly qualified college students? Let ASFMRA know of your internship programs and we will boost awareness of your internship opportunity with our student members, promote your internship openings at Summer Education Week and utilize our Young Professionals Network (YPN) to get the word out. The ASFMRA YPN group makes presentations at Land Grant and other colleges and universities on a regular basis and has access to top level students throughout the United States.

To get visibility for your organization and your organization’s internship program contact Brian Stockman at or via phone at (303) 691-1211. Deadline: May 15, 2014!

Texas Chapter Debuts New Website

The Texas Chapter’s website debuted at the Rural Land Outlook Seminar with 750 people present. The chapter is hoping to get new members, grow a web presence in conjunction with their rural land trends, as well as will help to grow the ASFMRA brand. Check out the site here:

Why good farm records matter

Mike Wilson, Farm Futures - Can you put together a cash flow statement? Should you lease your next combine? Do you know the best financial ratios to measure farm performance? Are you and your lender on the same page?  Better management skills come in handy when financial stress hits the farm.

Save the Date – Schedule Announced for New Member Orientation Meetings/Calls

The schedule for the quarterly New Member Orientation Meetings/Calls has been announced! These calls are for new ASFMRA members in which you will have the opportunity to ask questions of ASFMRA leadership and staff. You will also be briefed on ASFMRA meetings, education, and other opportunities. New members will be sent an invitation via e-mail containing the date, time, and log in information needed to join the meeting. If you are recent new ASFMRA member, please keep an eye out for your invitation! We hope you will be able to join us.

New Member Orientation Meetings/Calls

May 22, 2014 8 am PT/9 am MT/10 am CT/11am ET
  9 am PT/10 am MT/11 am CT/12 pm ET
July 10, 2014 9 am PT/10 am MT/11 am CT/12 pm ET
August 4, 2014 9 am PT/10 am MT/11 am CT/12 pm ET
November 13, 2014 9 am PT/10 am MT/11 am CT/12 pm ET
January 15, 2015 9 am PT/10 am MT/11 am CT/12 pm ET
April 16, 2015 9 am PT/10 am MT/11 am CT/12 pm ET
July 16, 2015 9 am PT/10 am MT/11 am CT/12 pm ET
December 17, 2015 9 am PT/10 am MT/11 am CT/12 pm ET

In Memory - James H. Reynolds, Lexington, KY

The ASFMRA was honored to welcome James Reynolds into the association in 1953. He joined the ASFMRA as a Professional member and obtained his Accredited Rural Appraiser (ARA) designation and went to the Accredited membership classification in 1956. He maintained his Accredited membership until 2011. As noted by Andy Peak – Kentucky Chapter Secretary/Treasurer – Jim was a charter member of the Kentucky FMRA Chapter and he was second to achieve his appraisal accreditation in Kentucky. Jim served as the Kentucky Chapter President in 1956 and was a long-time proponent of professional appraisal practices and a mentor to many who are still active in appraisal. Jim also served on the National ASFMRA Program Committee.

To learn more, please view Jim’s obituary -  James Reynolds Remembered. Jim made many friends through his association with the Society and will be missed greatly. Our thoughts and prayers are with his family.